New boys hoops rankings

tillo

Daniel Tillo has the North Stars 7-0 at the break (photo courtesy of Sioux City Journal)

 

I know, I know….I said I would do this thing often, just have not had the time. Well now that we are at the holiday break I have some time to dedicate to this. I promise to make a better effort in the new year, kind of a New Years resolution I suppose. So lets get to it. Again this rankings are my opinion

Class 4A

  1. Sioux City North (7-0)
  2. Iowa City West (6-0)
  3. Bettendorf (5-0)
  4. Dubuque Senior (5-0)
  5. Ankeny Centennial (7-0)
  6. Des Moines North (7-0)
  7. Sioux City East (5-1)
  8. North Scott (7-0)
  9. Des Moines Roosevelt (4-2)
  10. Cedar Rapids Kennedy (5-1)

Class 3A

  1. Harlan (5-0)
  2. Carroll (5-0)
  3. Clear Lake (6-0)
  4. Central Clinton, Dewitt (5-0)
  5. Solon (4-1)
  6. Grinnell (4-1)
  7. Bishop Heelan Catholic (3-1)
  8. Dallas Center-Grimes (6-1)
  9. LeMars (4-2)
  10. Pella (5-2)

Class 2A

  1. Western Christian (6-0)
  2. West Fork (5-0)
  3. New Hampton (4-0)
  4. Kuemper Catholic (4-1)
  5. IKM-Manning (7-0)
  6. Treynor (6-1)
  7. Fort Dodge St. Edmond (6-0)
  8. East Sac County (4-1)
  9. North Cedar (4-2)
  10. Cascade (4-0)

Class 1A

  1. West Lyon (6-0)
  2. Dunkerton (5-0)
  3. Keota (6-0)
  4. Newell-Fonda (7-0)
  5. Belmond-Klemme (6-0)
  6. Lamoni (7-0)
  7. Nodaway Valley (6-0)
  8. Iowa Mennonite (5-0)
  9. Ankeny Christian Academy (4-1)
  10. Jesup (5-0)

Deep Thoughts…..

I fully understand that I am probably the only person in the state who has SC North #1 in 4A, I also fully understand that Iowa City West has passed every single test and plays an outrageous schedule featuring top notch schools from around the midwest. Finally we are seeing a year where 4A has more than 1 or 2 really good teams. So far it looks like there may be 4 or 5 teams who could all contend for the 4A crown.

Lots of moving around in the 3A poll from the one I published a couple weeks ago. Harlan far and away the best team in 3A right now. 

In 2A, the West Fork/New Hampton game was postponed, as far as I know there has not been a make-up date set for that yet. 

In 1A, Belmond-Klemme is expected to get senior Elijah Kinseth back in their lineup maybe midway through January. Kinseth suffered a traumatic leg injury in football. B-K weathered the storm without him to start 6-0, They are good now…and when he comes back they improve even more in the paint. Big game right out of the holiday break when they face Forest City. 

 

 

